Slow Magic

How To Run Away (Downtown Records)

Contact Patrick Tilley about Slow Magic

A DIY project with worldwide scope, Slow Magic is universal and inclusive. It’s cosmic electronic music culled from the ether, yet crafted with human hands. It’s joyous, escapist, multi-disciplinary art that mixes transcendent performance with the nostalgic intimacy of two teenagers staying up too late on the phone.


After the release of 2012’s beloved and critically-acclaimed Triangle, Slow Magic became an international movement after touring with artists like Gold Panda and XXYYXX. Crowds found a masked man in their midst, bathed in fantastic light, with electronic triggers and a drum. The future-primitive combination infused the project’s electronic compositions with new life.


How To Run Away, Slow Magic’s debut with Downtown Records, reflects this growth, oozing both otherworldly beauty and a mastery of production. Lead single “Girls” is deconstructionist house with an organic pulse and collaged, handcrafted samples. “Hold Still” sculpts elastic organs and jazz piano into an emotionally-pummeling finale, while the melancholy “Let U Go” merges watery dub with spectral piano and “Closer” plays like a ’90s R&B fever dream.


Slow Magic is music by your imaginary friend.



    May 17, 2017
    Nashville, TN
    Cannery Ballroom

    May 18, 2017
    Charlotte, NC
    The Underground

    May 19, 2017
    Atlanta, GA
    The Tabernacle

    May 20, 2017
    Boise, ID
    Summerfield/Memorial Stadium

    May 27, 2017
    Morrison, CO
    Red Rocks

    Jun 03, 2017
    San Francisco, CA
    Gray Area

    Jun 17, 2017
    Chicago, IL
    Taste of Randolph

    Jun 23, 2017
    Heber City, UT
    Bonanza Campout & Music Festival

    Jul 19, 2017
    Brooklyn, NY
    House of Yes

    Jul 28, 2017
    West Hollywood, CA