Sam Evian

Time To Melt (Fat Possum)

Contact Jessica Linker about Sam Evian

Sam Evian will release his new album, Time to Melt, on October 29th via Fat Possum. So far, he’s released a string of singles that teem with blissful sounds shaped by the reflective environment and distance of his newfound home. Today’s final pre-release single, “Never Know,” features Sam’s honeyed vocals and drums from Sean Mullins (who will join Sam on tour). It glides with synth and twinkling rhodes as he mulls over looking past our current reality and leaning into what could be: “‘Never Know’ is kind of about escapism, dystopian realities, and aliens,” says Sam. “Sometimes it’s more fun to sit there and look out, you know? It’s a wild time to be alive, for better or for worse. It used to be that we only had fiction and conspiracy to feed our off-world fantasies. Now we have fighter pilots coming forward about strange, impossible experiences they’ve had in the sky.”


Following a move from New York City, Sam and his partner Hannah Cohen settled in the Catskills, where they built their refuge and Sam’s studio, Flying Cloud Recordings. That relaxing environment was imperative to Time to Melt, a glowing set of soulfully psychedelic pop gems and a testimonial to the life and wisdom to be found when you give yourself the mercy of space. The album reckons with the weight of our time, even when it sounds largely weightless.


Later this month, Sam embarks on his North American tour with a full band of Brian Betancourt (bass), Michael Coleman (keys), Sean Mullins (drums), and Liam Kazar (guitar, synths), who will also open each show. Tickets are on sale now.